University of Delhi (Scholarship Cell)

"PREMOJA CHAUDHURI MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP"

- 1. There shall be a scholarship known as "Premoja Chaudhuri Memorial Scholarship*" of the value of `200/- p.m. to be awarded out of the annual income accruing from the endowment fund of `25,000/- endowed by Dr. M. Chaudhuri, a resident of 9-A, Nizamuddin West, Mathura Road, New Delhi, in memory of her late elder sister Premoja Chaudhuri.
- 2. The Scholarship shall be awarded on the basis of marks-cum-means basis to a needy student whose parents income including his/her own income does not exceed to the amount from where it starts attracting income tax, and who joins the first-year of the M.Sc. (Chemistry) course of this University. The Selection Committee would be free to raise this limit if due to escalation in cost of living this limit needs to be raised upwards.
- 3. The Scholarship shall be tenable for a period of two years, renewable yearly on the basis of satisfactory performance of the awardee.
- 4. a. No student shall be eligible for the award of this scholarship if he already holds a scholarship awarded by Delhi University of any other University or the Central Government, or any State Government or Private Body, other than Freeship.
 - b. In case any scholar accepts any other scholarship/financial assistance from any other source, he shall be required to refund the amount received by him/on this account from the date he accepts the other scholarship/financial assistance.
- 5. If it should appear at any time during the tenure of the award that the scholar has failed to make satisfactory progress or has been irregular in attendance, he shall, after the due warning, in writing, be reported by the Principal/Head of the Institution/Department to the Academic Council which may reduce, suspend or withdraw the Scholarship.
- 6. The scholarship shall be awarded by the Academic Council on the recommendation of the Selection Committee constituted as follows:-
 - 1. The Dean, Faculty of Science (Chairman)
 - 2. The Head, Department of Chemistry
 - 3. One Professor of the Department of Chemistry to be nominated by the Head of the Department of Chemistry.
 - *The above scholarship has since been converted into one time book grant {\$C(scholarship) meeting dated 28.09.2007}.
 - **The value of the book grant be at the present accrued annual income on such endowment fund {SC(scholarship) meeting dated 27.01.2004.}